We’re Breakin’ Out

I recorded this one in L.A. with Noah in his apartment. He had a fancy 8-track digital recorder. At one point, he said, “I’d like to get some cars and stuff on this recording.” And he proceeded to stick the mic out the window, and, ya know what?, it sounds fantastic on the record!

…If Howard Roark Could Dance CD-Release Show at 400 Bar April 6, 2006

It was electric. The show, largely and unofficially sponsored by the Carlson School of Management Full-Time MBA students who promoted the show like hell and packed the room (led by Tony Johnson & future bandmate Ryan Arnholt), led to the one time in my life where I remember an encore being legitimately demanded. And it was the one time I was fully unprepared (and unwilling) to comply. We just weren’t ready with a 13th song. Oh well. Colleen lit up the stage before we left.

Teddy on drums, Bob on bass, it represented a teaming of talent that would never take the stage again together and was Bob’s last hurrah until he, Colin, & Toby teamed up for Eagles vs. Rockets a handful of years later and rehashed at least one of the songs from this set.

Firooz kicked things off in a way that only he can, delighting the crowd with positive creative word usements, before the band crescendoed into the first number, the usual Speakeasy Heroes opener, People on the Run.

Alas, Teddy was elusive, Bob was out on his own accord, and Toby was left to rebuild the mighty empire that was Cryns #3! But for one night, everything came together for a memorable night and memorable show.

Video from the CD-Release Show at the 400 Bar Thursday, April 6, 2006:

Track Listing:

  1. Firooz Intro
  2. People on the Run
  3. Inspiration
  4. Leaving L.A.
  5. Boulder
  6. Revolution
  7. It’s not the same without you here.
  8. Val
  9. Lookin’ Past Me (with Dave Brusie on keys)
  10. You’ve gotta get down on your knees and pray. (with Dave Brusie on keys)
  11. I’ll be right there by your side.
  12. Kids
  13. Colleen

Toby Cryns Live from Sportsman’s Pub on Feb. 17, 2005

Track Listing:

  1. The Road to Nowhere (Juvenocracy)
  2. Bombay Doors (Juvenocracy)
  3. Patriarchy
  4. Not the Same (Ben Folds)
  5. August 25 (Star Crunch)
  6. Serpent Slayer
  7. My God Loves to See You Play (Arthur Dent)
  8. Rock And Roll Lifestyle (Cake)
  9. Happiness is a Warm Gun (Beatles)
  10. Jackson Cannery (Ben Folds Five)
  11. You’ve Got To Believe in the World as it Once Was (Cryns #3)
  12. All That I Want (Cryns #3)

Toby Cryns Live from Sportsman’s Pub on Dec. 9, 2004

There's no single mp3 for this one.

Roughs for Brad pre-recording 2019.11.08 (Ryan, Toby, Jon; Act 2)

There's no single mp3 for this one.

Happy Endings Church 5 tracks that got swapped out of the other playlist from 2019.06.20

Happy Endings Church Act 1, Brad Toby Jon Ryan Rough Drums, Piano, and vox in Jon’s Basement mixdown 2019.06.20

1. “The Colorado State Wrestling Championship 2019.06.28” — CRACKHORN!!!


2. “02 I_m Gonna Marry Me A Blond Man 6-28-19 – Output – Stereo Out2019.06.28”


3. “03 Gayle And Ted Get Married – Output – Stereo Out”


4. “04 We Will Build A Home 6-28-19 – Output – Stereo Out2019.06.28”


5. “05 20,000 Men 6-28-19 – Output – Stereo Out2019.06.28”


6. “06 The stuff A Godly woman Must do for her man – scratch with piano + guitar + vox 2019.06.19”


7. “07 How Do I Control My Fire – Output – Stereo Out”


8. “08 Professional – Output – Stereo Out”


9. “09 Fence Builders for Christ and Their Evil Spots – Output – Stereo Out”


10. “10 Hi Mike, It_s Art, From Kansas City – Output – Stereo Out”


11. “11 Hard Hitting News – Output – Stereo Out”


12. “12 Good Old Fashioned Church Part I 6-28-19 – Output – Stereo Out2019.06.28”


Happy Endings Church Acts 1 & 2, Toby Jon Ryan Rough Piano and vox in Jon’s Basement 2018.10.06 Scratch Mixdown

MP3 Download of Act 1

MP3 Download of Act 2

Act I:

Act II:

Happy Endings Church Acts 1 & 2, Toby Jon Ryan Rough Piano and vox in Jon’s Basement 2018.06.15 and 2018.08.15

MP3 Download of Act 1

MP3 Download of Act 2

Act I:

Act II:

Total Songs Posted: 631
Sweet ass musical search and display functionality on this site by the Cryns Family Music Archives Plugin